Welcome to the Isle of Wight, there’s no jobs – with Derek Sandy

27 March 2009

I just saw that Derek Sandy made the b3ta newsletter. For those that don’t know, the Isle of Wight is a tropical paradise and it is kind of, sort of, where I come from. I would like to point out, however, that my parents are from up north and I am not an inbred caulkhead retard like everyone else there.

 

 

I applied for a job at the Isle of Wight festival today, predominantly because the Pixies have been announced – a very unexpected addition to the line-up. I don’t miss the Isle of Wight much, especially when I hear from friends who are still there, hopelessly applying for over-subscribed jobs and counting the days until summer arrives and suddenly Royston Vasey turns into Sweet Valley High.

According to a report by the Trade Union Congress, the Isle of Wight is the ‘worst in country’ for jobs, with more jobseekers per vacant post than any other county. Isle of Wight Councillers have disputed the claim.

Leave a Reply

